Murray State and Western Kentucky Renew Basketball Series


One of college basketball's greatest rivalries continues when the Murray State Racers host the Western Kentucky Hilltoppers on a date to be announced in the 2023-24 season.

The renewal of the series between the Racers and Hilltoppers is a four-year agreement with the first meeting at the CFSB Center in Murray during the 2023-24 season, with the second meeting in Bowling Green at Diddle Arena in the 2024-25 season. The third game is scheduled to take place in Murray in the 2025-26 season with the fourth meeting at WKU in the 2026-27 season.

The series stirs the passions of each fan base as Murray State and WKU were founding members of the Ohio Valley Conference in 1948 and battled in many historic games until WKU left the conference in 1982. Since then, the rivalry has continued with 23 meetings, of which the Racers have won 13. The Racers won 93-81 in the last meeting with WKU at home in 2014.

Preview: Murray State vs. Eastern Illinois

Racer Basketball Releases 2021-22 Basketball Schedule

Belmont Leaving OVC?

Racer Soccer Sweeps Player of the Week Awards

Austin Peay Officially Leaving OVC