Hoopalooza Golf Champions



Courtesy Murray State Athletics

From GoRacers.com...

2017 Racer Hoopalooza moved to the links Saturday when the Murray State men's basketball reunion played a golf scramble at Miller Memorial Golf Course.

The winner of this year's scramble event had a score of 53 (18-under-par) was the team of former Racer players Tyler Holloway and Marcus Brown as they teamed with Howard Boone, Tommy Fike, Lindy Suiter and Donnie Winchester. To get to their total of 53, they made birdie on every hole at Miller Memorial.

The runner up was one shot behind the winners with a score of 54 (17-under-par). The team was led by current MSU assistant coach Shane Nichols and former Racer golfer Josh Burks who teamed with Chad English, Chris Jones and Shane Smith.

There a pair of teams that shared third place with a score of 55 (16-under-par). One team included former Racers Popeye Jones, Derrick Flowers and Frank Allen who teamed with Scott Foster, Heath Scott, Todd Thomas (Former Racer golfer), and Bill Whitaker. The other team at 16-under-par was led by MSU assistant coach Casey Long as he teamed with Brian Epperson, Austin Groves and Aaron Whitaker.

Josh Burks was the winner of the long drive and closest to the pin awards, while Bill Gold won the post-round putting contest.

Other Murray State Basketball personnel that were on hand included head coach Matt McMahon and assistant coach Tim Kaine and current team manager Kyle Morris. Former Racers included Terence Brooks, Isaiah Canaan, Linzie Foster, Doug Gold, Jeff Martin and Jeff Martin, Jr, and former manager Lance Akridge.

Scott Edgar Q & A at 2017 Hoopalooza

Tyler Holloway Q & A at 2017 Hoopalooza

Tony Easley Q & A at 2017 Racer Hoopalooza

Racer Football - Five Questions with Mitch Stewart

Looking Back - Popeye Jones